The Glasgow Guardian

I am really excited (viz, nervous, completely shocked) to share news that I will have the opportunity to be a part of The The Glasgow Guardian (The University of Glasgow’s student newspaper) as a Features Contributor during my time here in Glasgow.

For those who know me, follow my writing, or (by virtue of its personal nature) both, this is something I’ve been working towards for quite a while, and the paper was a big part of why I chose Glasgow. I couldn’t be more thankful for the opportunity to write for such a well-respected organization which is a consistent and powerful voice for the students: advancing journalism, intellectual freedom, the arts… and really good writing.

Every day in Glasgow so far has been a well of new opportunities and challenges which leave me close to tears of joy at every juncture: I am so grateful to be back in an academic environment complete with so many wonderful supplementary, student-run organizations.

The presence of organizations like this at schools like this calls into focus the immense privilege its students hold solely in the ease of our access of these resources. With that privilege comes the responsibility to thoroughly make the most of all they are presented with to best advance their skills in a way which will also benefit the world. It is my hope that this opportunity and others like it serves as both the motivation and the means by which I can continue to do just that.

I have so much to learn from this experience, and for me, this is also another chance to get involved in — and give back to — a community which has served my family for so many generations. I am incredibly excited! So if you’ve a few minutes and are looking for a great read, check out the site!

The Glasgow Guardian

Published by

Caroline C. Evans Abbott

I am a Master of Research (M.Res) candidate in English Literature at the University of Glasgow (expected 2017), an incoming MFA Creative Writing candidate at Sarah Lawrence College (expected 2019), and a recent Honors Program graduate of the B.A. Studio Art program at Albertus Magnus College in New Haven, Connecticut (2015). From 2015 - 2016, I served as an English, Writing, and Creative Enrichment Tutor at the Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation, a Native American Reservation in Brooks, California and from 2014 - 2015 as a Writing Associate (Tutor) in the Albertus Magnus College Writing Centre. I am a Contributor and Photographer to The Glasgow Guardian and represent M.Res English Literature students on the Student Staff Liaison Committee (SSLC) and Students' Representative Council (SRC). This year, I look forward to writing, photographing my perspective on our world, exploring Europe, and pursuing further academic and professional opportunity.

Leave a Reply

